- Purging inactive accounts: ... A journal is defined as inactive if it has not been logged into for 24 consecutive months. A community is defined as inactive if has not been updated for 24 consecutive months. Once an account is eligible to be purged for inactivity, the owner will be sent an email to alert them of the inactive status. The owner will then have two weeks to log into the journal or post to their community to prevent it from being deleted. If the owner does not log in or post, the account will be deleted and treated like any other deleted account ...
If you've got any friends who have left their LiveJournals, and possibly changed email addresses since then, or just aren't likely to pay prompt attention to an email from LiveJournal, and they've commented on your posts, or you've commented on their posts, LiveJournal wants to delete all of that. Why? So that if someone else maybe wants the username, it can be available. Who cares about existing content - people's past writing - when someone new might possibly someday want that username.
If you think this is as bad an idea as I do, please leave feedback for LJ, and please repost or link to this.
Edit: I think they got a lot of feedback, because they've edited the post to change the definition of an inactive account or community: It's not inactive if it has more than one post.
Edit2: A private response to feedback I left yesterday tells me about the changes and the edited news post, and adds that comments of inactive accounts won't be deleted. I asked them to re-edit the news post to add that.